New Friend
massagetherapist

Outraged at Diana Perkovic

I just wanted to say that as a Massage Therapist I CAN NOT BELIEVE what I just heard Diana Perkovic say about massage!

I understand that she has a product to sell, but saying that she disrobes in front of a Therapist during a massage and this product replaces massage because "massage is only good for an hour" is unbelievably inappropriate, ignorant and a slap in the face to the profession of Massage Therapists everywhere!

Do not get me wrong, I LOVE HSN! I truly do. Shannon Smith and Bill Green are fantastic! (In my opinion, they should both get more air time.) So, I tuned into HSN today because I am a huge fan of the show and I absolutely love Brookstone's products! Unexpectedly though, I was unpleasantly surprised by the remarks of this woman. As a first time viewer of hers, I found her personality to be rather shallow and vacuous, especially after the obviously uneducated remarks that she made about massage.

I have no idea what type of "massage places" Diana has been to, but saying what she said as a blanketed statement about the profession that I love and do every day (for a Five Star Hotel) has just left me..well... shocked and irascible!!! Do you not educate your hosts to not degrade a profession?

There is scientific documentation that shows that the benefits of massage prove, not only to be, beneficial in stress relief and pain management, but also, and most importantly for the purpose of this discussion, LONG LASTING! Obviously, a machine is not going to provide the benefits of an actual therapist rehabilitating your body back to the state of homeostasis. However, she just misinformed thousands of people watching!

She is the reason that thousands of people have bad view of massage. So thank you, Diana! You have just made my job extremely more difficult by having to turn around someone that you potentially turned off of massage because of your snotty, ignorant comment.